Another NanoWrimo Fail…

So, here we are. At the end of the first week of December. The end of another year and leading into a new one. I thought I would come back with a great Nanowrimo update but alas, I don’t have one. I have come to the harsh realization that Nanowrimo being in November is absolutely the WORST time of year for me. I’ve known that before now, but still tried to work through it. However, this year, I was practically beat over the head with just how terrible this time of year is for me to devote to writing.

I completely underestimated how much I would be doing at my day job, while also getting traveling plans in order for the holidays. I was so busy all through October and November that by the time I would get home from work, I would collapse on my bed and not want to do anything at all; not even think. I would immediately change into my pajamas and then watch something mindless or comforting until I fell asleep. I will admit that my eating habits tanked too, if I was eating at all.

I currently work at a university and my department has multiple events that pretty much all take place around the same time. What makes it worse is that these are HUGE events that bring the department quite a bit of money. Writing was the last thing I wanted to do when I was finally free from the stress of my job and dealing with people. My creativity was shot, and I wanted nothing more than to curl into a ball. I contemplated quitting my job way more than once during this time.

It is now the end of the first week of December and things have finally started to slow down. Today was the first day since early October that I felt like I could actually breathe again and get my bearings. It’s the end of the semester and we have less than two weeks until the winter break starts which will be a lovely and much needed break indeed.

So, Nanowrimo was yet another fail for me. A part of me wishes that Nanowrimo would go back to being in the summer like it apparently was back in its original days. But, oh well. There are many more months of the year that I can write in.

~ TheCloudRunner

Leave a comment