Book tags

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

So it is basically the end of June and I have been wanting to do the Mid Year Book Freakout tag. I was not tagged but who cares! Tags are so fun. This tag is a popular one over on YouTube within the book community and I believe it was originally created by Chami from the channel ReadLikeWildfire.This tag is basically supposed to be me freaking out over the books I have already read this year and want to read this year…or something like that lol. I actually have not read that many books this year (only 10) but still wanted to do the tag so here goes. 

1. Best book you’ve read so far this year.


A Court of Thorns and Roses. This is the only popular book I have read so far this year and because it’s so popular, I really didn’t want to name this one because well….I’m personally sick of seeing pictures of this book and I’m tired of people talking about it. But, at the end of the day, the hype is true. This was a good book. Way too violent for my taste but I was never bored. I was invested throughout the entire book and it did a good job at making me feel things, even if they were negative things towards characters I despised.

 2. Best sequel you’ve read so far this year.

 I actually haven’t read any sequels so far this year unless you want to count the finale of a trilogy.

 3. New Release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

 

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi. This is a middle grade book that was released in March of this year. It’s about three kids trapped in a magical game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves as well as other children in the future. It is described as a “steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair”. I don’t know about you but they had me at “trapped in a game” and “Jumanji”! I love that movie and I would love to see this Middle Eastern flair added to it 🙂

 4. Most anticipated release for the second half of 2017

Wonder Woman!!! I have been hype ever since last year when I first heard there was going to be a Wonder Woman movie. Then when I found out that authors were going to be writing super hero stories creating a DC Icon Series, I was even more excited. The first one being released is Wonder Woman Warbringer and I am fortunate enough to actually have the ARC of it! Official release date of this book is August 29th.

5. Biggest disappointment

My biggest disappointment is not a new book. I finally got around to reading Divergent by Veronica Roth and it was….ugh. Man, I don’t even know what to say. It was awful. I hated it. Flat and dry characters. Stupid concept. And overall I feel like the Divergent series was written at the height of ‘dystopian’ hype and that’s the only reason why it was successful. Sorry I’m not sorry.

6. Biggest surprise

The One Safe Place by Tania Unsworth. I was expecting this to be an adventurous middle grade read and while it was, it was also so much more! It had this creep factor to it that I was just not expecting and I just could not put the book down. I gave this book a four out of five stars because it ended in a way where there definitely could have been a sequel or be made into a series. My full review can be found here.

7. Favorite new author (new in the publishing world or just new to you)

I have a favorite book, but I don’t have a favorite author. Is it weird to be a book lover and not have a favorite author? 

8. Newest fictional crush

I don’t get fictional crushes. I have loved characters but never in a ‘crush’ sort of way and I have never wished I could date them.

 9. Newest favorite character

For the sake of the tag, I will say Lucien from ACOTAR.

10. Book that made you cry.


Nothing made me cry real tears but two books that really made me feel a sadness is A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman and A Thousand Miles to Freedom by Eunsun Kim. The former is a book about the resilience of a girl that loses a leg in a horrible bus accident which puts a temporary damper in her dreams of becoming a Bharatanatyam dancer. The second book mentioned is the first-hand account of a woman and her family and the 9 long years it took to escape North Korea. Read this book please. If you want to know the struggles North Koreans face, read this. Even if you don’t, read it anyway.

11. Book that made you happy

 

A slight Smile is Very Alluring by Gu Man. This is a Chinese translated novel and was such a cute and fluffy read that I found myself smiling quite often and it left me feeling very satisfied. It is also a tv show called Love 020 but I have not seen it. I have a full review on my blog here.

 12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you saw this year

Haven’t seen one this year and I’ve only been to the theater to see the new Wonder Woman movie.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year.

I don’t really have one of these either because I’m always critiquing myself but if I must choose, then I pick my review on The One Safe Place.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year.

Dang, you want me to narrow that down?? The Alchemist by Michael Scott, The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid, and Vinyl by Sophia Elaine Hanson.

 

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

• Wonder Woman Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo


• ACOMAF & ACOWAR by Sarah J. Maas


• The Zodiac series by Romina Russell


• Exo by Fonda Lee


• The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana


• The Original Black Elite by Elizabeth Dowling Taylor


Omg there are just so many! But I will stop here.

Thanks so much for reading and if you want to do this tag and haven’t yet, then I tag you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. I was so disappointed because people would tell me that I would absolutely love it and after reading it, I just kept asking myself “how do people like this book??” Lol but oh well.

    Like

  2. Yeah, the Divergent series wasn’t the best. I liked the first book, though!

    I also don’t get fictional crushes and don’t actually understand how to get them?

    I really liked watching people’s booktube videos about this tag so I’ll see whether I’ll do this or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

