Language

Spanish Language Update #1

So two weeks ago I started my Spanish classes. I mentioned in my previous language update that I would be starting Spanish classes this summer. I guess I can’t really call them classes; it is more of me just having a personal tutor to correct my grammar and help me with proper pronunciation and annunciation. She also tells me a bit about the culture and explains things that I would not know unless I lived in the Spanish culture. Don’t get me wrong, she gives me work to do. But anything extra, I would have to do/find on my own and bring it to her if I needed any help such as building vocabulary, taking an actual class (which she encourages), and immersing myself in a Spanish environment (which she also heavily encourages such as volunteering at a home, shelter, or neighborhood club).

After telling her that I have not touched the Spanish language in four years (and even before then, I was terrible at it) she started me off on a seventh grade level using old books from back when she lived in Costa Rica. She repeatedly tells me that they are the same books she used to teach her own children Spanish after moving to America (her children were born in the states and she is married to an American). The only difference between me and them is that they started learning at a younger age than me and had a mother to speak to them, daily, in Spanish. Both are extreme influential factors in the language journey.

Initially, I thought starting on a seventh grade level would serve me well. Easy peasy. This will mostly be a review for me. Oh, how wrong I was! After reviewing the alphabet and how to pronounce vowels and consonants, I was thrown into seventh grade reading and having to decipher the laws and rules of grammar and punctuation marks. I literally had to reach for my Spanish dictionary every two words to even figure out a sentence. It took me over an hour to read four small paragraphs (with only 3 to 5 sentences in each one) and answer the first corresponding question. And I had two pages more to go!

But after that grueling first hour or so, I believe I started getting the hang of it. My tutor was actually very pleased with my answers and my understanding of what I read. When I construct sentences together, my grammar is horrible (and she has no problem telling me this, lol). But she did tell me that the idea is there and I am actually using the correct words. I am just not conjugating them that well or at all…or arranging them in the right order lol. The one and only time I had a perfect sentence in response to a question, the answer was completely wrong. But hey, at least the grammar was perfect. Progress!

I haven’t been able to take a picture of the two books she is using to teach me but here are some of the pages of what have been my assignments so far: 


I meet with her once a week every Tuesday after work for an hour to an hour and a half. She has a second job so we can’t go any longer than that, which is why she encourages taking an actual class. She really wants me to excel in Spanish and is literally as pumped as I am that I am learning it.

In the meantime, I still have one of my old Spanish books from college that I never used. When I asked her opinion of it, she flipped through it and thought that it was a really great book (this is saying a lot from her because she hates the majority of Spanish books used for teaching here in the states). I also think I am going to try to find some children’s books to practice reading and building vocabulary that way. And if anyone knows of any good Spanish learning websites, apps, or even some children shows, please let me know!

But that’s all for now. Hasta luego! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Spanish Language Update #1

  1. Oh my gosh! I’m glad you’ve posted this! I haven’t been studying Spanish for a while. I ought to be intermediate-advanced but I feel that I’m intermediate-beginner due to lack of studying.

    I don’t know many Spanish shows apart from El Internado or Gran Hotel… mainly because I haven’t been watching many (any)… oops :O

    I recommend you watch easy languages (spanish) on youtube. They mainly make videos in Peru and the Peruvian accent is pretty clear. I also recommend OneWorld2Hearts which is a youtube channel of a latina based in china. While I’m new to her channel and actually haven’t watched many of her videos, I find that her Colombian accent is very clear.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the recommendations! I have actually heard of the channel OneWorld2Hearts I’ve just never clicked on her name. I will be sure to check her out. Best of luck in your Spanish studies!

      Like

Leave a Reply

