Language

Korean Language Update #4

Hello everyone,

So, the last time I got on here for a language update, I was pretty upset and had fallen behind in my Korean language goals. Since then, I have had to pretty much relearn everything because it was getting harder for me to remember much of anything besides the basic hello, goodbye, I am *insert name here*. I am almost all caught up. I only need to review one more chapter then I can move on to new things. I still can’t say that I have been consistent though. Mainly because not qualifying for a major learning opportunity paired with studying in Korea becoming less and less likely for me, has left me trying to reevaluate what I want to do with the language and how I will continue to use it on a daily basis. I like Korean and I want to learn it but the urgency has dissipated a bit. I still look for ways I can use my current academic studies and combine that with Korean somehow. But I won’t go on another rant or start complaining; that’s not what this post is for.

Currently:

So, I have relearned the first seven chapters of Korean Made Simple. On the days where my brain simply can’t take any hardcore learning (because I am in school full time with a part time job), I just watch Korean videos on YouTube or listen to the brief online lessons from Talk to Me in Korean. I really love their website and want their books as well but since I already have too many Korean books, I probably shouldn’t buy them. But dang it, I really want to. Ugh >_<

Issues:

1) With the little bit of Korean that I know, I will say that my reading level far surpasses my listening comprehension. When I listen to Korean being spoken, it sounds like random noises leaving someone’s mouth. But when I see it on paper or typed up, I can recognize quite a few words and can piece together sentences. I’m ready to start recognizing spoken words but it’s not happening yet. That doesn’t upset me though because I still like listening to the language. Understanding will come in due time.

2) I also struggle with building my vocabulary. I can go over vocab words and remember some of them but when I go back to it in a few days, or even the next day, I don’t remember anything. And what’s the point of learning all this grammar if I don’t have vocab to fill it with? What are some ways I can start to build my vocabulary without having to stare at vocab lists for long periods of time? Rewriting them doesn’t really work for me either. If anyone can recommend any free vocab games, please let me know!

Writing practice:

I think I will start to end my language updates with pieces of my current writing abilities. I’m sure there will be grammar mistakes but that’s why I need your help! If any of you find any mistakes, let me know in the comments section so I can take notes.

This brief (and I do mean brief!) paragraph is a simple greeting, introduction, and a little bit of random stuff ending with the fact that I’m hungry. (Seriously, my stomach is scraping my backbone right now). So here goes!

안녕하세요! 잘 지내세요?

저는 하늘입니다. 미극 사람입니다. 살에 미극이지만 한극에 방문고 싶습니다. 저는 한극말을 좋아합니다. 저도 스페인어 좋아합니다. 푸에르토 리코에 도 방문고 싶습니다. 저는 지금 배고픈과 먹고 싶습니다. 아침시사만을 있습니다. But, oh well.

무엇을 먹습니까?

I actually wanted that last question to say “what do you like to eat?” but I was confused as to how to write that so I was pretty much just left with writing “what do you eat?/what are you eating?” If anyone knows how to ask “what do you like to eat?” please let me know lol.

That’s all for now.

안녕히 계세요.

Leave a Reply

