Language

Korean Language Update #2

Hello everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

Back again with another language update. So far, for majority of the month of December, I have been using the Korean Made Simple book by Go! Billy Korean. I pretty much started my language journey over since I was not learning anything with the previous book I had and even though it has only been a month, I have learned so much more (I actually havenโ€™t learned much at all but since I learned NOTHING with the last book, yes, it is considered a lot lol).

Side note* since I did start over with my learning, I am counting from December onward, as December being the start of my journey.

I have learned Hangul which was pretty straightforward. Many people say you can learn Hangul in a week or even a few hours but I stayed on Hangul for the month of December. Why, you ask? Because, simply put, I am forgetful. I want the basics drilled into me so there is no way I will forget what a character sounds like. Learning the consonants and vowels were the easiest for me. The diphthongs on the other hand…they jumble up and look like the same characters to me, because the difference will literally be one. tiny. stroke. And it will be a completely different sound entirely. And also, the sound changes! Omg the sound changes are overwhelming. I’m sure they will not be so hard once I get further into my knowledge of the language but right now there are so many to learn! But thatโ€™s all a part of the fun right?

So I just wanted to share with you all what I have learned so far. I will type it up in Korean then write the (hopefully correct) translation below it. If there are any Korean language gurus out there or any native Korean speakers, feel free to correct anything I type that may be wrong lol. I am self-studying so therefore I do not have a teacher/tutor. I will gladly accept help and guidance!

Okay, here goes:

์•ˆ์˜ํ•˜์„ธ์š”! ์ €๋Š” ํ•˜๋Š˜์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ๋งŒ๋‚˜์„œ ๋ฐ˜๊ฐ‘์Šต๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์ €๋Š” ์Šคํฌ์ธ ์„ ์ข‹์•„ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. Track & Field ์‚ฌ๋ž‘ํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. ์•ˆ์˜๊ธฐ ๊ณ„์„ธ์š”!

Translation:

โ€œHello! I am Haneul (my name in Korean). It is nice to meet you. I like sports. I love Track & Field. Goodbye!โ€

Lol! Thatโ€™s about it. I told you; not much. But I am still excited nonetheless. One small step at a time. I will go over the chapters where I learned all this probably for the next two days (maybe the rest of this week) practicing making new sentences with the new vocab given at the end of the chapters. I am also going to try and make some flashcards for the new vocab so I can start to remember things.

Side note* My name in Korean – Hanuel – I pretty much claimed for myself. After watching some videos on YouTube and reading the cultural notes in my language book, I understand that Korean names usually only have three syllables with the first name having 2 and the last name having 1. Well I had no idea how to pronounce my name in Korean. My first name also has 3 syllables and not two. So, I went for the meaning of my name instead. The meaning of my name is Heaven/Sky so I looked up the Korean translations for both of those words and found Cheongug (์ฒœ๊ทน) for Heaven and Haneul (ํ•˜๋Š˜) for Sky. I liked the sound of Hanuel better so I chose that one. Iโ€™m sure much more thought goes into naming oneโ€™s kids in Korea but this was just for fun since I obviously already have a name ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

