Language

Korean Book Haul! (Part 1)

Hello everyone! A few days ago I made a post about starting a language learning journey and one of the languages I am going to learn is Korean. I purchased quite a few books and just wanted to share them with you all.

So out of all the language books that I have purchased so far, I definitely have the most Korean books. Why? Two reasons:

  1. Korean textbooks and access to Korean language courses are becoming more readily available in the U.S. Just like Chinese and Japanese, Korean is a popular language to learn and it is a language that the U.S government has deemed “critical”, so the demand for learning tools has increased tremendously over the past years which means: more textbooks! Yay!
  2. All the Korean books I bought are very popular and have great reviews. So I had no idea which series to buy. It doesn’t help that I don’t really know my learning style when it comes to textbooks (I know that I like practice exercises though) so I was hoping I could get all these and be able to take something from all of them (not very cost efficient, I know).

So I was able to get my hands on Korean for Beginners: Mastering Conversational Korean.

img_6974

As you can see from my little tabs on the side, I have actually already started this one. It is a fairly short book that comes with an audio cd and I am about a third of the way through it. This book does have some valuable information in it but I guarantee you that once I finish this book, I still won’t know much more than pronunciation (thanks to the audio cd). The info in this book has no depth. Its presented to you, you get a couple examples, and you’re off to the next topic. Not very good for the total beginner like myself. There are no quizzes, no tests, and no practice exercises. I need those things! All you get is a Korean crossword puzzle in the back, a Korean-English glossary following after that, and all the grammar you were briefly introduced to condensed into a chart (that is still difficult for me to fully understand without help). I think this book is better suited as a reference book or used in conjunction with a tutor/teacher.

The next books I purchased were the Korean From Zero series.

img_0049kfz-three

I have heard many great things about this series on language blogs, YouTube videos, and reviews on amazon. I love that these books are a good size (over 300 pages each) and they give many opportunities to practice through exercises in the book.

kfz-2kfz

You can even download the audio for free from the website to assist in your learning. And did I mention they have a YouTube channel?? Even more resources to use while studying their books! Yesss! 😀

Another book I was able to get my hands on is the Korean Grammar for Speaking.

grammar-3

This is another book that looks amazing. It’s a learning text and workbook combined so there are plenty of practice exercises throughout and there are even two tests at the back of the book with an answer sheet following it. The first five units of the book even teach you reading and writing before moving on to 2 sections of numbers, then finally moving on to grammar. Just flipping through, I love this book already and it will be the next book I start after I finish Korean for Beginners.

That is actually it for this first half of my Korean book haul, but I am going to end it with a book that I really REALLY want to get my hands on: Hangeul Master by Talk To Me In Korean.

I was on YouTube one day (you will hear me say that a lot) and I was checking out the videos from Talk To Me In Korean. They did an entire flip through of this book and I absolutely have to get my hands on it! It has absolutely everything you need in learning to write 한 글 (Hangeul). It has plenty of practice and even shows you different written fonts which is great because it’s not really beneficial for new learners to be used to regular typing font. I would love to get the entire TTMIK series but the TTMIK books are only available from Korea so the shipping costs just as much as the book, if not more.

The vendors that do sell it here on U.S. websites or stores like Barnes & Noble have jacked the price up to double (sometimes more) than what the book actually costs. On Amazon and at Barnes & Noble, the price for this book is $35 when the original price is only $19 -_-

Well that’s all for part 1! I wanted to keep each post to a reasonable length so I broke the haul into two parts. Stay tuned for part 2.

Leave a Reply

