Uncategorized

The Reading Slump

reading1

Attack of the reading slump…

I know, I know. What a way to start off your bookish blog. A whole reading slump and it doesn’t look like it’s going anywhere any time soon.

I brought books to school with me and I was so excited because I usually never bring books to school with me for fear of never having time to actually read and then I would have brought extra things to school with me for no reason. And I was doing so well too! I was reading about two books a month (which is amazing for me since my graduate work seems to be never ending). But then October hit. And my goal was to get all in the Halloween spirit and read books that had a Halloween-y feel to them. So I chose two books. The first book, Beastly by Alex Flinn and second, Horns by Joe Hill.

Book #1. I flew through this book in a matter of days. It was a quick and fun read and I was super excited to read it since the new live action version of Beauty & the Beast will be coming out in early 2017. Then I moved on to book #2 and that is where the fun stops. I got a little over 100 pages into Horns and I just couldn’t do it. I was bored. The characters were so unlikable it was borderline ridiculous, and the story just moved along wayyy to slow for me. So I DNF’d it. I hate not finishing a book but I hate finishing a book I disliked even more. Ever since then I have had no desire to pick up another book and it sucks!

I want to read. I really do. But I just…can’t. I don’t even understand it. I keep thinking that the next book will be bad too. Or maybe it will be so good that it will mentally take me away from my school work that I so desperately need to stay on top of. I want to read but then again, I don’t. (??)

I don’t know. The slump has settles over me and I need some tips on how to get out of it! What do you guys do to get out of reading slumps?

Leave a Reply

